Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Another Robin

Honestly, I can't resist robins.  And I know that as soon as the berries are gone, they will move on too.  Today, I was out on the deck with Jax and was delighted when a steady stream of them landed about 12 feet away at the bird bath to have drinks.  They could obviously see me sitting there but were not spooked at all - uncharacteristic of robins in my experience.  Anyway, this is a female, identifiable by her overall lighter color.  Males, like the one I blipped HERE have more vibrant red on the breast and darker backs.  Sometimes hard to tell if you don't see both sexes together.

Today I took my first paddle in the kayak since last summer - a momentous event!  I stopped going out last year when my hands were so painful; subsequently, I was diagnosed with rheumatoid arthritis and it's taken my most of the year to finally get to a point where I feel like the disease is being well controlled by meds.  Since it was 80 F today with only a light breeze, I figured I'd load the kayak and head for one of the local lakes.  I didn't find much to photograph but really enjoyed being out on the water.  Only stayed out just a bit over an hour and took it easy, but felt so happy to be out there.  I was afraid the RA might end kayaking for me.  

One more nice day tomorrow before we dip back into the high 50's for a few days.  Honestly, we could really use some rain, even though I'm loving the warm, dry weather.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.