Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

A day in focus!

After yesterday's failure to take a decent image, I made sure that the camera was set up correctly.

I had a parcel to return to SeaSalt and I took it to the Royal Mail depot, where it is easy to park. Our old postman, Sean, was on the desk so we had a great chat. He did not know about Mum, but remembered her well and spoke very kindly of her.

When I mentioned Scotland, he said he is planning to go wild camping with his son next year on the Outer Hebrides. I told him about the bothy at Mangersta and showed him the link. He wants to go!

I called into Hexham Abbey because if was a bit early to go to visit Maureen. There is a splendid exhibition called Threads through Creation by Susie Finlayson.

I know we should not just photograph and copy the work of artists for Blipfoto, but I had chosen one panel to show in context. A second is my extra. It is really worth a visit.

Maureen was on good form. She is gradually making her room more like home. We had a good catch up. 

Then I was back to Humshaugh to see Margret before she took a train to Peterborough, ready for her son, Frank's, funeral tomorrow (near Cambridge). She is being very brave but it is going to be hard.

I've done some stitching up of woollies (you know how I hate that job) and listened to Michael Rosen interview the poet Nabeela Ahmed about writing in three languages. This was very interesting. Find it on BBC Sounds if you like the idea.

Occasionally I cook a whole chicken for myself. Tonight it was done in the pressure cooker with vegetables. That makes it extra delicious and moist. Mmm.

PS Thank you for all your good wishes for Joe Cornish. He was able to sit up today although I think it is very painful for him. He took a few steps too. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.