stephenmarsh3

By stephenmarsh3

Water water everywhere not a drop to drink.

This morning was a bit...well....lets just say challenging. We were preparing breakfast in the kitchen, when around 7am the water went off. It turned out to be a burst water mains pipe along the road from us but the whole of Keswick was without water. The hottest day so far; yesterday was 29 degrees and really humid with no water for anyone to shower. For a guest house to be without water in the morning is a major disaster. No tea, no coffee, no poached eggs, no cleaning of pots, no washing up at all. No cleaning of rooms. No flushing toilets. So a trip to the supermarket for bottles of water was imperative. Of course everybody in town had the same idea. The supermarkets open at 8am so it was a dash for the line by all the guest house owners. Just as I stepped out the door, the long awaited thunderstorm broke and soaked the streets and me. Standing in the queue to pay was hilarious. One old chap asked me in all seriousness, why the town council hadn't warned us there'd be no water. I asked him how he would expect them to announce it and he said they should do it over the loudspeakers. Eh.., I think we've moved on from that era I replied. Another asked at what time it would be back on. I gave up there. With as many plastic bottles as I could carry, I headed back through the pouring rain. All the guests were by now in the dining room waiting for their breakfasts. As usual, we managed to make it through another morning and all were happy. Of course Sod's law then came into force. I'd just boiled £6 worth of bottled water to wash the dishes with, when the burst main was miraculously repaired. Well done to United Utilities for fixing it so fast.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.