Legacy

By Legacy

Better Than The Alternative

Sunset at the Marina or Lizzie Attacking a Bird. For obvious reasons, I went with the sunset.

My dear Lizzie, now several pounds lighter and apparently feeling her oats, has turned into a hunter. Tonight she brought down one of those dear little plain brown birds I love so much. She even brought it into the house, which turned out to be a good thing because I was able to get it away from her. I was all prepared to put it in a quiet spot to let it expire in peace, but to my surprise it revived and flew away into a bush. I made Lizzie stay inside and now I'm hoping that the bird survived and made it out of the bush to higher ground at least.

I know this is just the way things are, but I don't have to like it. I love my Lizzie and I love bitds and I'm never going to be comfortable with the hunter/hunted thing. Maybe I shouldn't have put her on a diet after all. When she weighed 21 pounds she didn't do anything but lie around. You wouldn't think losing 3 or 4 pounds would revive the hunter in her, but apparently it's made a big difference in how fast she can move and how high she can jump.

What to do, what to do.......

For the foreseeable future I think I'll sit on the patio with Lizzie and intervene when necessary.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.