Not how you want your day to start

A few minutes (maybe even moments) before I got on the pass, looks like a French plated Caterham had an incident with a motorbike.

Front drivers suspension torn clean off the Caterham, the bike was a mess, but the most important thing was the biker on the ground being tended to by friends.

Problem with Stelvio is that you are a long drive from an ambulance and it was a good 40 minutes before one managed to make the scene and scrape the poor guy off the ground.

Considering where the Caterham was - I'd say the bike was probably a little too far over and paid the price for it. And seeing the types of bikes his mates were on - they probably weren't hanging around. The Caterham is quite low as well so I reckon the bikes clipped the corner slightly blind - and found the lowest car imaginable.

Either way, hope the biker is ok.

The day got interesting - I ordered lunch in the morning and the sausage guy was gonna find someone to bring it down to me - he asked the Carabinieri! So there was the Italian Military Police (thank you Alex) coming down to my corner and handing me not only my lunch - but beer as well!

You have to love Italy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.