Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

View from Our Dining Table

The view from our dining table - the white water. I've often heard people speak about "getting to see the white water" from some place they are looking. We see "white water" several place from this old house, and this is one of them.

Today marks one year ago that we first stepped foot into this little beach house. I had seen it on the Internet and the real estate agent we had been communicating with for the better part of a year, had seen it and sent its info to me probably back in June a year ago - I think she sarcastically sent it as a joke. I think she thought it was "a little shack" and that we'd have no interest, but I also think she was tired of our "slow-poke" mentality; I was quite content to look at property (mostly on the Internet) until I found what we could afford and what we needed in order to be comfortable.

So in June I responded to her that we'd like to see it sometime soon, but we weren't sure exactly when we'd be on the Central Coast again, but probably not till late July. When I saw it on the Internet, three elements about the house caught my attention: the view, the price, and that it had two bathrooms. I suppose price tag was the high priority.

So, late July arrived and we were here walking through this house for the very first time. We hadn't told our adult kids, nor anyone for that matter that we were looking. Mr. Fun has an elderly mother who would panic at the thought that we were considering houses and an eventual move that is a 4-hour drive from where we currently live.

Our appointment with the real estate agent was for 11:00 a.m. We were anxious. It was quite a moment. The house was occupied by a renter who had simply left the door unlocked for us. This little house was packed with furniture. Every wall had photos or artwork or musical instruments hung on them. I took lots of photos as we walked through the house and the backyard, which is really a sizable backyard, and the garage, which is below the house.

We were here for the better part of an hour, I'm sure. We exited excited and rather confused about whether we could turn this desire into a deal. We weren't sure if we'd be over-reaching our ability - financially and surely in other ways (the house needed some fixing and we don't tend to be "fixers").

So today I sit here at the dining table looking at the waves one-by-one rolling in and I am immensely thankful for all that has transpired these past 12 months and sort of feel like I need to pinch myself.

I'll explain more tomorrow. For now I'm just going to be entertained by all that is on the horizon and the rolling waves, while I celebrate this moment.

Good night from California's Central Coast.
Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.