Legacy

By Legacy

Success Story

I've blipped Lizzie many times and told the story of how she was found at 4 weeks old, starving in a field with her siblings. There were four of them and they were found by some construction workers who each took a kitten. Lizzie had problems and ended up with me because she needed to be hand fed until she gained strength. She weighed 1.5 pounds when I took her, just slightly more than Trinket who weighed 1.25 pounds. My daughter rescued Trinket just about a week ago, certainly no older than Lizzie was and in just as bad shape. Lizzie obviously recovered and is happy and healthy now. Trinket, sadly, died this morning.

This hasn't been a good day for me, but when I decided to focus on Lizzie's success story instead of Trinket's death, it got a bit better. I am unbelievably grateful that she had four days of care, warmth, food and loving, and even more grateful that many people I know and blippers who knew about her were thinking of her. The odds may not have been in her favor because she was so tiny and malnourished. Her vet determined that there was more going on with her than we could surmise, suspecting something was very wrong with her liver.

I've had animals all my life and all but one of them has been a rescue. Most have been incredible success stories like my dear Fred who was my feline soulmate for 16 years, and Sweet Pea, the little stray mutt who walked into the yard one day and stayed for 15 years, never in that length of time doing anything wrong.

Someday my daughter and I want to have a sanctuary for animals. It's the only reason I would want to win the lottery. Until then, we'll do what we can and never regret it, even on sad, sad days like this.







Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.