Stace91

By Stace91

Bonds!

After yesterday's adventure around town I wasn't up for another big day with a lot of walking, so I decided to keep it in my suburb.

I wasn't to sure what I would take a photo of but my dad suggested I take a short stroll down to the Bonds Factory around the corner. For those who don't know Bonds was founded in 1915 by an American named George Alan Bond who started importing women's hosiery and gloves to Redfern, Sydney. From there it is now the largest Australian manufacturer for men's, women's and children's undergarments :-) and they are super comfy :-P

The Bonds Industries in 1923, built Australia’s first cotton spinning mill at Wentworthville in western Sydney – the area around the mill was soon renamed Pendle Hill (that's my suburb!!), in honour of Mr. Bond’s Scottish heritage (and I'm part Scottish woo)

I don't often give a history lesson in my blips but I learnt this today :-)

This photo is of the old factory, the new one is right beside it. Because of all the history I think it has been protected from being destroyed. I like the look of it, old buildings are always interesting to me :-)

On behalf of Australia and the UK as well according to Wikipedia- thank you Mr Bond... George Bond! For comfy undies :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.