Bergamot

You remember the stunning bloom that appeared in my rose bed - that I hadn't a clue what it was at first ?

my surprise

Looking more closely, I realised I had left the label on it and it was one of those buy two get one free deals in the garden centre - when I had wanted the other two plants !

Forgotten, neglected, ignored, it turned out to be a bergamot.
More about the plant

Apparently, its oil has all sorts of uses, from Eau de Cologne to Earl Grey


Bergamot essential oil

Bergamot essential oil is a cold-pressed essential oil produced by cells inside the rind of a bergamot orange fruit.

Bergamot essential oil is a major component of the original Eau de Cologne composed by Farina at the beginning of 18th-century Germany. The first record of bergamot oil as fragrance ingredient is 1714, to be found in the Farina Archive in Cologne. One hundred bergamot oranges will yield about three ounces (85 grams) of bergamot oil.

In perfumery bergamot oil is used as fixative.

The term "Earl Grey" has applied to black teas that contain Bergamot essential oil as a flavouring.


Well, my plant is producing another bloom - but I don't think it's destined for any great purposes other than looking lovely.

One solitary white butterfly and no ladybirds :-(

But at least Nottingham Forest won yesterday, even though it was a dreadful game !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.