Over the Horizon

By overthehorizon

California

And I'm off!

Saying farewell to my ol' Virginny home until next time. I'll be back again before I know it. One of the few places I will always return to.

A long day flying cross North America, literally, a whole continent. One ocean to another. I still can't get over how easy it is to travel for my generation. At no time in all of human history has the world been as accessible as it is now. Something incredible in its convenience, but which changes the whole nature of travel too. It ceases to be won. If I could have my way, a little more time, money, and planning I would like to motorcycle across this country one coast to the other, or better yet bicycle! For now though it will have to wait as I've just stepped off the plane into Santa Barbara California.

All the impressions I've had in my head of California already seem to match up pretty accurate so far and before I know it I'm hugging Pete and we're driving north up the coast past hills dotted with gnarled oaks and pinyon pines and valleys filled in with long rows of grapevines. Many vineyards and fields of various agricultural endeavors everywhere, the breadbasket of California, most nostalgic for me of John Steinbeck.

Eventually we arrieved on the central coast, in a place called Pismo Beach. The air is cool and just right with fog drifting in off the ocean. There are palm trees which is certainly a plus and best of all I'm sitting on the rooftop overlooking the distant lights of the boardwalk graduating into the vastness of the Pacific illuminated by the moon below. Sipping wine and nibbling on prosciutto wrapped asparagus beside an old fire pit with Jenny and Pete, two of my very best friends.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.