La casa de Schubabala

One of those reluctant goodbyes with the train pulling away at the station and before I knew it I was alone again....

Our adventure finally over Becca and I had to confront the real world again with me heading off to Chicago before catching a plane back to the East Coast and her helping manage her sisters wedding and fitting in summer plans before an expected Peace Corp move. You feel someones absence acutely after you have spent nearly every waking moment with them. Pulling away on the train felt like that...

Later, trains and subways and many city blocks after I unlocked the door to la casa de Schubabala in Chicago. Oherwise known as Steph and Adam's Schubel's place, they are some awesome friends from the Biostation I am housesitting for over the weekend on the North side. When I arrived their street was 'blocked' off and all the Latino neighbors were out serenading the streets to Cuban San while little kids squealed in delight chasing one another left and right with water hoses. The temperatures are topping the upper 90's F in the city this weekend.

That night I met Alison and Kevin, two new friends I met on my recent visit to Colombia. Chicago natives they took me out on the town catching me up while sipping on pints at outside patio bars. The streets are full and bustling like an electric current, all lit up on a Saturday night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.