Bee-autiful

This is an amazing capture and it is not because it is the best photo I ever took it is because it is a photo of a bee. I am deathly afraid of bees. I run with my arms flailing if a bee comes anywhere near me.
Imagine my bravery getting close enough to get a photo. I first attempted it with my phone camera because I was getting into my car and noticed there were a few bees in the lavender plant by the driveway.
I was on my way to art class and was running late (of course) so I sat in the car for a second debating whether or not I had time. It was supposed to rain later on so I figured this might be my only opportunity to get a good Blip. I got out of the car and very stealthily walked toward the plant. There were three bees hovering over the flowers. Well maybe it was my vanilla scented body lotion but I swear those things lifted off the flowers and started to head towards my phone. I kept hitting the button for the camera hoping I would get something decent but I honestly was not looking at the screen at all but rather at the bees darting toward me. I dropped the phone in the flowers and ran back in the car. I resisted the urge to scream but it was right there waiting to come out.
Now I had to get the phone. I look around the inside of the car and see an empty water bottle (actually, there were many empty water bottles) and I took it and tossed it into the flowers to scare the bees. I grabbed my phone and this time let out a little tiny yelp as I got back into the car. I looked at the images on my phone and ever one was blurry.
It was not until later on in the day that I attempted it again on a different plant. This time I used my camera. Thank goodness for the zoom feature! I did not have to get AS close and was pleased there were some good choices. I have seen much better photos of bees on flowers from fellow Blippers but I felt like I overcame quite a bit fear to get this shot!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.