Legacy

By Legacy

Glass Garden

I hardly know where to start, but I will.

Our day began leisurely at home and then we took off for Seattle and a day at the Seattle Center. We started with brunch at the Collections Café which is located in the Chihuly Glass Garden and Glass Exhibition Hall. I have to say that it was a culinary achievement of epic proportions, beginning with Mimosas for all (mine was a strawberry lavender one). Margie and Derek had salmon benedict, Mark had a chopped salad and I had pigs in a blanket which was like no other pigs in a blanket I have ever seen or eaten. The sausage was spiced to perfection with a touch of chili no less, the pancakes were light and fluffy and the whole thing was just super. I am a foodie and love the opportunity to eat different things, although I’m not one for exotic stuff like barbecued cobra or anything like that, but it’s so nice to have something special once in a while that isn’t microwaved after a day at work.

So, after brunch we went through the exhibit which was just slightly short of spectacular, as Chihuly always is. His work is very organic and vibrant, and he works on a large scale. The pieces look substantial and terribly fragile at the same time. I can’t honestly say I’m Chihuly’s biggest fan but I do appreciate his artistic creations. My blip is of part of a very large installation that easily was 100 feet long and looked like a garden of imaginary plants. It was mounted on a huge black base with a mirror finish which only enhanced the beauty of the glass sculptures. It was really hard to pick a blip because there were so many beautiful pieces. Another of my favorites was a ceiling – clear glass with hundreds of abstract glass pieces resting on it, so you were standing under this amazing rainbow of color. If there are any blippers who have seen the ceiling in the lobby of the Bellagio Hotel in Las Vegas you’ll know what I’m talking about .The glass garden outside has more large pieces among beautifully landscaped displays. It’s really quite a stunning exhibition.

It was great weather, again. We’ve been so lucky to have several great days for Margie’s visit. Tomorrow is a work day for Mark and Derek so Margie and I will head to Bellevue and see what mischief we can get into.

If you’re interested in knowing more about Dale Chihuly and his art, check out this website:

http://www.chihulygardenandglass.com/

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.