Musings of a Mortal

By KennyRiley

Once upon a time....

Headed off to Roslin Glen today with my good lady wife and enjoyed a wonderful walk thru the woods

The problem that I encountered today whilst trying to capture an image was one of "What should I shoot as I have the whole glen in front of me and I want to reduce that to a single image!!" - a skill that I am still trying to perfect and probably will continue too for many years.

Yesterday I had a lovely comment on facebook from a good friend Tansy Lee Moir - and if you click on the link you will see an example of the great artwork she produces....

So Tansy this is for you - a picture of a wonderful tree.

Yet this image also spoke to me in another way - the beauty in its ruggedness, the way time and the elements have shaped it to become the tree that it is today and oh that it could tell its story. I can just imagine sitting by it (with a nice bottle of red) and listening to its great tales and experiences that it had encountered over the years (sounds like a scene from "Lord of the Rings")

A timely reminder also, not to ignore those who themselves are getting a bit "knarly and rugged" (unlike Tansy who is still full of youth and vitality!)

Listen to their stories - and maybe share a bottle of red too - experiences and wisdom that they have gained over the years and let us not discount them as is so often the case in this generation that we live in.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.