Maid in Wales

By welshmaid50

The Maids Birthday

Another year older but definitely no wiser. The sun is shining , so that's a bonus. When i was in infants school the birthday boy or girl would sit in a special chair in front of the class and the children would sing Happy Birthday . As my birthday was in August i missed out on this little tradition. I didn't say anything for a few years but i happened to mention it to my grandfather who was the school caretaker. He had a quiet word with the headmistress and they sang to me before we broke up for the holidays. I was thrilled. My daughter, son-in-law and grand -daughter phoned me this morning and sang , Happy Birthday to me, then my grand- daughter sang it to me in Welsh. This is our family tradition.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.