Hon in Edinburgh

By honined

Tanja Ariane & Robert Hayward (Bluebeard's Castle)

A good friend of mine asked if I fancied going to something that sounded like a Dido concert. This friend is a top bloke and all that, but I frankly wasn't sure I wanted to wave my arms around with him to that singer songwriter's observations on her love life. Thankfully, it was entirely my misunderstanding. He meant the operas "Aeneas & Dido/Bluebeard's Castle". Much more manly stuff.

I did enjoy them a lot. They were both visually stunning, but I probably liked the Bluebeard's Castle more as that story unfolded so well. The Aeneas & Dido story must have seemed a bit far-fetched, even for ancient Greece. These days she would have dealt with Aeneas' desertion by unfriend-ing him on FB, or something like that.

This shot of the two main performers for Bluebeard's Castle was taken at the curtain call. Really well done show.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.