A.P

Its my Dad's birthday today. Feel a bit guilty because for the 4th year running I am in Spain, so I'm not able to be there to say hello and give him his presents.

So, A.P, this is for you!

James calls my Dad "Grandad Bonkers" which is possibly the best description I could ever have come up with! Dad signs himself off as AP on emails - which stands for Aged parent - I think it comes from a poem.

My Dad is fantastic. He is a superb cook, makes his own ginger beer which is lovely, grows veg, is a cracking photographer, is unbelievably fit, a well respected metallurgist, a whisky man (if there's a cupboard it WILL have whisky in it), a mouse catcher extraordinaire. He loves Art and his home is a gallery in itself. He has instilled in me a love of books, art, music and photography and a work ethic that has stood me in good stead as I have progressed in my career.

He has introduced me to music that I would never have heard of - and takes great pleasure in playing his music LOUD. Its because of Dad that I love Pink Floyd.

My Dad is generous, funny and fantastic fun to be around. He's all of these things and so much more - he's my Dad.

So, Happy Birthday AP...James and I love you to bits.

PS - Carlos 1, lots of saffron and some fantastic dark chocolate with chilli will be with you when we get back.

PPS - If the cricket doesn't improve, I suggest more whisky with your water :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.