Journey Day 1

Mt Rainier from Sunrise - with her typical cloud layer - it was later afternoon, we sat on a bench in front of the old lodge where I know my Mom sat in the sun during the summers she worked on the Mountain during college which would have been the late 1930's. I love Sunrise and Rainier for beauty and all that, but she holds my Mom's sprit too. Very special.

(Journal notes for me but read if you want - left Seattle around 1PM, drove straight to Sunrise and then White River Campground below for the night, it nearly empty. A bear kept some of us campers amused watching him hunt along the river. Good quiet night with early rise to head to the "dry" side of the mountains. As we are now there and I sit in a Starbucks, saving today's posting until I get further into the day - I can say it is hot and dry for sure - here in the Yakima Valley!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.