Anatole's blips

By anatolebeams

Brent geese in the evening - Greenland

Not an especially clear shot, but it gives a feeling of the quiet solitude that seems to be common to summer evenings in East Greenland.

The geese were pretty timid and it took some stalking up to even get this close (I didn't have the big zoom with me). I guess the locals like a bit of goose to add to their diet of Fish, Seals and Guillemot.

Bird list:
Lesser Black-backed gull
Glaucous gull
Sabine's gull
Arctic Skua
Raven
Northern Wheatear
Snow Bunting
Brent goose
Gyr Falcon
Common Redpoll
Little-ringed Plover
Turnstone


I was surprised at the paucity of birdlife. I guess it may be the season, although some migrants were still there - some in greats numbers like the Wheatear. But there were some unusual ones that were nice to see - even a few 'lifers' for me!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.