stellarossa

By stellarossa

Lucy talks too much!

Lucy Stronach - my grandmother - rewarded for regular attendance at Sunday School with her own copy of Louisa M Alcott's Little Women and Good Wives. Well-thumbed and clearly much loved. Strange to think of her as a an eight year old girl as the First World War took a grip on Europe - December 1914 saw the first German air raid on Britain. Scary times.

She was a delightful lady and the most wonderful Grandma you can imagine. My fondest memories are of playing board games like Chinese Checkers with her. She always made us lovely meals when we went to see her and my Granddad every weekend. A big lunch starting with soup and home-made bread rolls. We'd spend the afternoon playing in the garden or helping/hindering Grandad in the greenhouse.

In the evening she'd make sandwiches, celery sticks with a bowl of salt for dipping, sausage rolls, and sometimes choux pastries filled with cream and topped with chocolate, put on a hostess trolly, wheeled through to the lounge where we'd eat buffet-style whilst watch The Val Doonican Show (although I think I have vague memories of the Black and White Minstral Show too...).

She told us her school reports always said 'Lucy talks too much!' As I write this, I realise I take after her quite a lot :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.