Failing to Rise to the Occasion.

Before I realised that summer had returned with suspiciously high temperatures and a sun with his hat on, I thought to bake some bread from a recipe from James Morton's newly published book 'Brilliant Bread' as a prelude to the shorter days and wider waist lines of autumn.

HL and I both love newly baked bread with butter or cheese, but for me it has been a no-no for most of the year being considered the devil's own food, along with potatoes and pasta and of course butter or cheese.

But I succumbed to temptation last week with a freshly baked loaf from the Pillars of Hercules at Falkland: a loaf which disappeared like the proverbial snow off a dyke within hours.
Temptation struck again this morning with my bake off scheduled for this afternoon after the week's shop at M&S. That was when my intention faltered.........

I would like to acknowledge the participation of the bakery department of M&S in the making of this blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.