Final countdown...

Well...the Great North Run is tomorrow and while its not the ultimate aim of my current training - that's in 15 days time in Loch Ness - it's a pretty important feature.

Since starting on my running bug, I've wanted to do the GNR. I've entered the ballot many times but I've never been successful. (For many reasons, I haven't run for charity since my first marathon and I wasn't going to do so now.) Anyway, I was unsuccessful again in the ballot this year.

A couple of months ago I found out that I'd won a competition that got me entry into the GNR. Success! Finally!

I'm originally from the North-East and as my parents were both PE teachers, we always were an active family. When I was young I did numerous Great North Walks, Great North Bike Rides and in 1991 I ran the Junior Great North Run. I didn't enjoy that run, that was long before I developed my love of running.

So somehow this race seems symbolic. It almost feels like something I need, not just want, to do. It's like coming home. I'm not really running for a time tomorrow. I'm running just to do it. And I'm going to enjoy it.

Thank you to my friend and running buddy, Tom, who captured this shot for me after we'd been to the pasta party. My attempts to get a good photo of the bridge tonight failed miserably.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.