fennerpearson

By fennerpearson

When in Edinburgh

Many years ago, when I was working freelance, I spent a lot of time in Edinburgh. My chief pleasure in that most wonderful city was going to the cinema. Not to the big joyless corporates but to the independents; the Cameo, the Filmhouse and the Dominion.

I've been back to Edinburgh many times since but I've never gone back to any of those cinemas so, this weekend, in Edinburgh on my own, I decided to make it a proper nostalgia trip and to go and see a film.

Having made various other arrangements, my available time for going to the flicks was a little constrained and it basically came down to a choice of 'About Time' (about which I am dubious), the Alan Partridge film (love Steve Coogan, not mad about AP), or 'The Artist And His Model'.

I have a tiny preference for the Cameo but 'The Artist...' was showing at the Filmhouse, so that's where I went. And if you get a chance to see the film, I highly recommend it. It gave me the same sort of feeling as when, after a day of listening to the kids' music, I put on, say, 'Spirit Of Eden'.

And after that, I met my old boss, Cam, for a few beers and a curry, which featured the biggest naan bread I've ever seen :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.