Trust Me

Yes, it’s an airport blip – the Indianapolis airport to be exact, upon my arrival in Indiana, but trust me, I would have been a great blip if things had worked out just a little bit differently.

On the flight from Bellingham to Portland this morning at 7:00, we flew over the islands along the Washington coast, a beautiful scenic flight even under the worst of conditions and a great chance for blips. Sadly, my camera was in my carry-on which was somewhere in the belly of the plane because that’s just the procedure on small planes. Of course I could have taken the camera out of the bag first, but I just didn’t. Trust me -- it would have made a great blip.

The first stop was Portland, and while I was waiting at the gate, a man and his little boy (about 2) rode by on the moving sidewalk. The man was crouched down holding the little boy on his knee and the child was wide-eyed at the experience. It was a charming sight but by the time I got my camera out, they had drifted past. Trust me, it would have made a great blip.

Leaving Portland for Denver, we flew over Mt. Hood, which was impressive to say the least. Where was my camera? In my bag which was in the overhead bin and I was in a window seat and once you’re there, you’re there. Trust me, it would have made a great blip.

Leaving Denver I sat in my window seat and watched puffy clouds drift over Colorado farmland wishing I had taken my camera out of my carry-on which was, once again, in the overhead bin. It had been a running, tight connection which I barely made, so I was not thinking clearly, and everyone knows how the process of boarding a plane can be anything but relaxed. A nice man grabbed my bag, put it in the overhead bin, and I was swept into my window seat to get out of the way of the rest of the herd. At that point I realized where my camera was, but it was too late. Trust me, it would have made a great blip.

I spent the remainder of the trip trying to make as many words out of “flyfrontier.com” as I could.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.