Extreme Television

Before anyone turns me in for copyright violations, I’ll admit this is a screen shot from a movie I was watching this afternoon. The name of the movie was “Mount St. Elias” and it features “three of the world’s foremost ski mountaineers who face impossible odds as they attempt to set a world record” by skiing from the summit of Mount St. Elias in Alaska at 18,000 feet to the bottom at sea level. They succeeded admirably.

I didn’t rotate the picture -- these guys were skiing down vertical cliffs thousands of feet at one stretch. It was absolutely amazing. They all made it to the bottom, right to the water’s edge, in apparent excellent condition. The sheer skill and strength it took to accomplish this feat was amazing. They almost made it look easy, although I certainly knew it wasn’t.

If you’re looking to spend 101 minutes with your mouth hanging open in amazement, I highly recommend the movie. I got it from Netflix, and I’d buy a copy if I could find one just so I could watch it occasionally and marvel and the lengths to which some humans will go to challenge themselves.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.