From the dark corner.....

By Rozwood1970

Edinburgh 3 - The Longest Day!

Having had no after effects of my evening out with Lesley, Eric, David, Cheryl, Shev and Duncan, I was pleased to get up at my normal time and enjoyed my breakfast but with no haggis this time. It had been a wonderful evening and the only pain I had was an achy face from laughing!

I caught the 11 and sat in Princes Street Gardens from where I took this picture looking over to Waverley Bridge and Waverley Station underneath. I must have sat there for a good hour people and squirrel watching! I was really startled when one hopped up on the bench beside me and sat there eating an apple core. This is a squirrel I'm talking about, not a man! Interesting thought though....

I went to Jenners (it's a posh old fashioned beautiful department store on Princes Street for those of you not familiar with Edinburgh) after that for a cuppa with an apple turnover and after getting thoroughly lost in there looking for the loo, I headed down the Lothian Road where Karen and John stopped me disappearing in the wrong direction! We then went to The Hanging Bat (a beer cafe) where we were all meeting. Ann (@atocher) and Baxter (@btocher) arrived soon after. Nelly (@MamzelleLil) arrived soon after that and a long session of beer and laughter commenced!

I hadn't been to The Hanging Bat before and from the name I expected it to be more like a rock pub with black and purple walls having bats and spiders hanging from the ceiling. Far from it! It was trendy, modern and most importantly had an amazing selection of real ales. The place also had its own microbrewery towards the back. The food was great too. I had a Poodle - don't panic! - which was one of their hot dog options. We went to The Red Squirrel bar a bit later as we got into the evening.

It was another wonderful day out with great friends and I finally made it back home to A-Haven around 23:00. As we'd met at 13:30, that was quite some day and I have an achy face from all the laughing again.

I don't think I'll drink any beer today (Sunday) and am being collected at 9:45 for a day out with Mad Friends. Take no notice of the bint on the right as that's me unfortunately!

Track? My Joe Bonamassa concert on Tuesday is fast approaching and to go with my Waverley Station picture, here is Slow Train

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.