From the dark corner.....

By Rozwood1970

Edinburgh 4 - A Blipper's Paradise

What a magical day it was! Edinburgh is a city that dreams are made of; well my dreams anyway. To open your eyes properly expecting the vision to disappear and then to discover it's still floating before you is quite wonderful.

I was picked up at 9:45am by Lesley and Eric (with Bailey eyeing me warily from behind the back seat) and off we went to McDonalds at Seafield to meet up with Shev, Duncan, David and Buddy. You know me, I never mind a McDonalds! You can't beat a muffin in the morning!

From there we went to Portobello Beach where I had never been before. It was the most beautiful warm day you could imagine and we had such a nice stroll along in the brilliant sunshine watching little boats in the distance and swimmers in the waves. The weather had brought lots of people out and the two dogs (Buddy and Bailey) had a great time running in between us and shaking water everywhere from time to time. We left there and after dropping Eric off at home - he had to go to work - the rest of us piled into Duncan's car and went to the foot of Calton Hill.

It was somewhere I had admired from a distance for such a long time but I never thought I'd make it up there! We took our time walking up a long windy path and I was totally blown away by the fantastic view of Edinburgh from up there. I reckon you could do a whole year of blips from there taking in a different spectacular view each time. Why do you think it's taken me so long to post this evening? Along with all the Portobello pictures, it has taken me ages to decide on just one picture! I felt quite weepy - not for the first time this trip - looking at the awesome view available in every direction. Everyone has their own taste and things that stir them emotionally. For me, it was here.

We descended again after a while, had a couple of pints and nachos in Elm Row and there endeth a magical weekend. I am sat here with achy legs and a glowing face from the lovely sunshine deciding what to do for my last three days. I am not short of ideas either!

Track? It was a gentle day with no running involved thankfully but let's have this rousing one chosen by David today. We were discussing it while walking back down the hill - Run To The Hills

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.