Flowerpower's journal

By Flowerpower

In the shadows

It was too glorious to stay indoors this morning so I went out to enjoy the beautiful countryside in this balmy weather. I went to some of my usual haunts to get a shot of the beautiful Warwickshire countryside. The views were stunning from the Burton Dassetts. I then decided to go to Charlecote to see if I could spot the deer. They were not easy to find and I spent over an hour walking around trying to find them. Then a lovely group of females walked up towards me. Here they are.. I thought, 'That's my blip sorted for today', and carried on walking. I eventually came upon another group of females and started to follow them. I was so intent on the group that I did not notice a large stag lying under the trees in the shadows in front of them. I only noticed him when he stood up. I practically walked into him!

The sight of him stopped me dead in my tracks and took my breath away.

He was a magnificent looking fellow.

He did not stay long. He gave me a long hard look and then trotted off into the woods. I only mananged to get a couple of shots in time. This is my favourite as it gives you an idea of how I first saw him. He was a dark silouhette under the trees.

I hope you've all had a good Sunday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.