Wedding cake

One of my jobs whilst I have been here is to sort out the design I wanted for my wedding cake - the cake is a gift from my mum (I think!!!) and her best friend, Ann, who is an accomplished sugarcraft artist and cake maker is making it for me.

We have batted a few ideas around over the last couple of months, but nothing has really struck me. However, last night, over a glass of wine, I sketched a few ideas out, talked to mum about logistics and whether certain things could be done and came up with a design idea.

So last night, at around 10.30 pm I ordered my wedding cake!!! And you won't know anything more about it until April 3rd 2010. In fact, to be honest, I won't know all of the details till then, because I am wanting flowers on the top that will match my wedding flowers - except that I don't know what flowers I am having until the day! My Aunty is a florist and she has already asked if its OK to do my flowers and my bridesmaid's, and she knows exactly what she is going to do, she knows the colour she needs to match, and its all a big secret from everyone until the day.

Which is ace - I love surprises.

So, Rose, you are going to need to liase with Ann to sort out a small floral arrangement for the top tier of the cake! Will speak to you when I get back (and will come down and show you how to blip too)

In other news:
Went for lunch today - in the restaurant, an English family came in and sat down, with I KID YOU NOT a Parrot - a real live, walking, squawking green and blue parrot. It wandered off into the bar at one point which was funny - but it was so well trained, dead calm, really obedient. James tried to take a photo of it, but sadly it didn't turn out and we didn't want to pester them again whilst they were having lunch.
The pre-return shopping has started - tobacco today, booze and saffron tomorrow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.