Singing in the rain

Woken at 8.15 this morning by another absolute stonker of a storm. Got up, made a brew, left my boys in bed and sat on the porch watching the storm play out. Huge amount of rain in the space of a couple of hours, so much so that the drain off channel (the "canal") at the bottom of the road filled up - 2 to 3 feet of water. The road was flooded to kerb height, and when the rain stopped, me and the kids wandered out to have a look. One of the kids took a rubber ring and was letting it float down the road - James tried to get in it and nearly did himself a mischief.

Dennis, in his usual mode of silliness started doing his singing in the rain impression, in the process managing to soak me to the skin!

Mid afternoon, the clouds cleared and its been sunny and warm ever since - you wouldn't know it had been so squally this morning based on the weather now. The only problem is that there is an abundance of mozzies who have taken a real shine to Corin and I. I think the bite total for me so far this holiday is 25. I look like I have chicken pox.

Went for a manicure and pedicure this afternoon. In typical Sarah fashion, I managed to smudge one of my beautifully french manicured white tips before I got into the car to come home. Gutted.

Sat watching the cricket highlights. James has gone out with Wayne (see yesterday), one of the other kids and his parents. We're contemplating the taberna. We'll see.

2 more full days, then Sunday is packing and cleaning, ready to leave by 5, airport by 5.30 and hopefully home by 10.30. Ready for school first thing on Monday morning. The pre-GCSE results jitters have kicked in now. Another week would have been lovely. Not to be and I shouldn't sulk as we have had a lovely 3 weeks (almost).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.