Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Square eyes...

Uncle A did not require my ironing services today - he managed to do it all himself with his new shoulder. And I’m delighted. Delighted about the improving use of his arm, of course, not the idea of no ironing…

A very very dreich day. And so I did something I don’t think I’ve done before, but have considered it many times - I went to two afternoon movies. One was only just bearable, though I had no qualms about leaving before the end to walk down to the other cinema. The next one was almost, but not quite, as bad. They always sound promising in the blurb. With Toni Collette and Steve Carell in the cast, the comedy potential was there. It did not live up to expectations. Toni was wasted, and basically just made gurning faces the whole time and didn’t have many lines. The neighbour was brilliant, though.

I had intended to go to see Rush, the story of the Hunt/Lauda rivalry - I think the cinematography must be excellent. But then I realised it was on the one of the small screens at the Cameo. And since they’re not much bigger than my new TV (I exaggerate only slightly) I went to the one on the big screen instead. ‘In the World…’ Big mistake.

So the only photo I took was on the way to the cinema, in the rain, in a rush.

I think I will forgo an Almond Magnum from the freezer today. No, I’m not getting all strong willed and resisting temptation - I wish! - I had a big bag of Maltesers at the pictures and feel slightly ill...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.