Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

At Last!

Uncle A and I went shopping, with a detour round the park because it was such a nice day. At Dunsapie Loch the cygnets were being fed by a couple of girls, but they’d run out of brown bread and the cygnets were sailing off. So I showed them how the cygnets are partial to handfuls of nice green grass. They were squealing with delight (the lassies, not the cygnets).

I then showed them that the cygnets would take grass from your hand. This was met with even louder squeals and screeches - it’s a wonder the cygnets didn't quickly remove themselves to the other side of the loch. I nearly did... but I hung around hoping for a more dramatic shot of the girl perhaps falling in... But this one will have to do.

In the paper this morning I read about a pop up restaurant in the Grassmarket selling fried meal worms, crickets and pigeon burgers. A pestaurant. So in the interests of blipping, I set off for a try. Fortunately Unfortunately it wasn’t there today. I really would have tried one for you. Honestly.

Well, maybe not the pigeon burger. Yeuch!

Came round by the Usher Hall and there were hundreds of folk in their Sunday best with graduation gowns on. Apparently the inaugural graduation of Edinburgh College. Lots of proud families and chuffed young people. Good luck to them all.

Got back home to the news we’ve been waiting five long weeks for, on ever-growing tenterhooks (it’s as painful as it sounds) - the house is SOLD. The missives are completed today. Phew!!

I think some sort of celebration is in order this evening!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.