Muse

By Muse

Cat as trophy

My wonderful husband is an artist. Having completed two graphic novels for Mr Pratchett he is often invited to conventions and is currently preparing a set of pictures for Bristolcon (a Sci-fi and Fantasy convention) in October.

Arriving home yesterday he had completed several images; one in particular stood out - a goth girl with a dragon on a leash. I was very taken!

As a woman (can I call myself that?) who has spent over half her life in black, listening the the Cure, Bunnymen and Banshees, there's still a part of me that hankers for the crimpers, hairspray and black nail varnished days of old. "I'd like one like that" I said to Graham, "but mine should have a cat!"
No sooner said than done, and today when I arrived home, tired and begraggled from a day at the chalk face, I was presented with my commisioned drawing!

We have lots of Graham's artwork around the place - paintings and prints - in almost every room of the house, but I intend to frame this one at the weekend and give it pride of place in the Emily Room. (I shan't try to explain this particular room in the house in as really this area of our home should be a series of blips in its own right) I love everything about this drawing but especially the cat which is clearly modelled on our very own Pixie!

Punks grow out of it and ravers stop raving. But gothic girls are goths for life!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.