From the dark corner.....

By Rozwood1970

Some Things Never Change!

I slept pretty well last night. Is the air heavier down here in Brum? I feel like I have been wading through treacle since I hit the runway yesterday. Ummm it was a gentle landing (the driver was a man) so I didn't actually hit the runway. You know what I mean.

I was up soon after seven - Monday 5am will KILL me! - had the usual shower etc and then trundled downstairs where I chopped up a red onion and added it to eggs for breakfast. Ahh how I missed David's egg, bacon and tomato today! Oh well..... I carried on reading my book for a while and watched half of Jeremy Kyle before having a bit of a tidy up. As the weather was really nice, more like a summer's day, I went to Solihull to call in at the bank to sort a couple of odds and ends out and go to Sainsbury's for crusty rolls. I had a mad craving for sweetcorn chowder with crusty rolls and nothing else would do. I'd have left it until Monday otherwise..

Lloyds Bank (formally Lloyds TSB) had changed all its signs and were celebrating their relaunch/divorce and were giving out buffet food and drinks to customers. I wasn't bothered with that but there were big sweet containers labelled with signs to help yourself dotted around so I did! Chocolate balls! I took a couple of handfuls and stuck them in my bag. The guy behind me in the queue was giving me the evil eye so I said told him it was the only free things we'd got from the bank for years so I was having loads of balls! Interestingly, everyone else was filling their pockets and bags when I was finished paying my cheque in.

I headed back after that. The postman had been and I was delighted to see the American stamps on a cheery envelope containing a birthday card from Cara! I've never had a card three weeks early before and it's now standing proudly on the stereo. The envelope really made me laugh though as the last line of the address read 'Birmingham, Scotland' which had me wondering about Scottish people with Brummie accents or Brummie people with Scottish accents! I think I'll strive for the latter...

I made my sweetcorn chowder after that and spotted my favourite pigeon nearly falling off the feeder attempting to get at the fat balls.

Rushing now as I'm off to see Joe Bonamassa again at the NIA.

Track? Easy today! I hadn't heard this great number from The Sweet for ages which was playing on the radio while I was doing my Masterchef stint. It ties in with me wondering about the lifeless 'heavy air' feeling I have had all day too. I'm sure I felt better yesterday morning! - Love Is Like Oxygen

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.