Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

More Cloisters. Is this a series?

Before I got too carried away with celebrating last night, I loaded up the car with ten boxes of china (lots of newspaper padding, so not a lot in each box) ready for the morning.

This morning I dropped JR off at her place of work and went down to the beach. It was a misty moisy morning, but warm and still. Nobody much about. There was a big daft Irish setter bounding along the waves barking with its friend, a sensible wee black cocker spaniel. They came to slobber all over me say hello.

Suddenly we heard honking of a flock of geese flying in formation, very low over the water. We all stood and watched - the two dogs, the owner and I. Then two swans whoopped overhead, heading in the other direction. I don't know what the dogs were thinking, but I thought it was magical.

I had a coffee from the wee caravan thingie, and the promenade was beginning to get busier with kids on scooters and people cycling and jogging. Even on a dreich day the beach is a nice place to be.

I then drove to a place I’ve never been to before, but it’s as pretty as it sounds - Rosewell. I deposited the boxes at the auction rooms there for them to deal with. Hopefully they will make enough to cover their fee. Oh no, it’s a percentage, so we’re all right...

I spotted this magnificent building there. A church, but there was no sign at the gate or even inside the grounds, which were extensive and full of different cloistered grassy areas. Wonderful brickwork. I hoped somebody would spot me and come out to shoo me away so that I could ask about it.

I found out afterwards it’s St Matthew’s RC Church, built by volunteers in 1926. Cloisters added in 1935.

Went to the afternoon showing of ‘Blue Jasmine’ and I’m pleased to say it was good. Very very good. Cate Blanchett was wonderful. She was on screen the whole time and was mesmerising.

Popped into the BlackBird pub for a snack - at my request, they kindly turned down the muzak in the eating area (and pumped it up in the bar area). We had a great meal/bottle of wine.

On the way home guess what we saw… A wee female miniature schnauzer, Eva. So gorgeous! The owners said they were going to breed from her… Did we get an email address? No. Big mistake. Very big mistake. Will have to look out for Eva again.

Booked the removal firm. Boxes arriving tomorrow. The fun begins!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.