Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Anyone for a gin?

Today we walked to Summerhall via the Meadows. Archie let himself down by barking at a toddler who approached him noisily. I think this stems from the 'Superman' visit last weekend. He also barked at a particularly screeching toddler passing by when he was sitting up on the chair, gazing out of the window. Hmmm... that water pistol may have to come out of retirement...

Summerhall had an Open Day, so we had a look in on the brewery and gin distillery. I was especially taken with the latter - it was housed in two rooms which used to be the small animal hospital and it still had the cages for the cats. One visitor declared that he hoped the smell of cats' pee didn't affect the gin. Which reminded me of this.

On the way there we met three wee Scotties! Two wheaten coloured ones and a black one. They were all six months old, same as Archie, but were much smaller than him. I wish I could have got a decent photo - they were all over Archie in one big squirming hairy bundle - licking his face. He just stood there like a kindly uncle with his rambunctious nieces and nephews. It was so sweet. The owners had gone to get two pups, but came away with three. As you do. I hope we meet them again.

All week I've been taking Archie for a wee whirl round the block in the car, with lots of treats. My cousin did this with her dog, gradually going longer whirls, and cured the dog's car sickness. Today I did three whirls round the block. He hops in and out of the car no bother. I've also sent for some dog appeasing pheromone spray to try. So we'll go a longer drive next weekend, with fingers crossed. Not the driver, obviously.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.