Mari

This is my good blipfriend marinakari, who I met today with her husband before they headed off to the aiport on their holidays.

This morning I went to see Temppeliaukio Church, a really beautiful church built in 1968-1969 by the architect brothers Timo and Tuomo Suomalainen. (Incidentally, this church is as old as me!). The walls have been quarried out of natural bedrock and it is topped by a massive copper dome with a diameter of 24m (79ft). It is lined with 22km (13miles) of copper stripping, supported by reinforced concrete beams, and light is reflected inwards frrom 180 skylights. Also called the Church of the Rock, it can hold a congregation of nearly one thousand and has excellent acoustics. While I was inside, the music of "O Holy Night" was playing and the place was otherwise empty and full of silence. It was a very emotional moment. The music, the acoustics, the beautiful lights inside the church, everything... An amazing looking place. There I took a few photos and I placed a candle for the father of a good friend of mine who is now very ill.. I left the church crying.. but I cheered up later on, when I met Mari and her husband for a coffee and a chat.

After this mini blipmeet, I met Flashead, and we went for a coffee and a walk around Helsinki harbour.

Later on, I went to take some pictures near the sea just as the sun was starting to set, and then I headed back to the hostel as I was feeling really tired after all the walking I did today.

Thanks very much for all your nice comments, and sorry I'm not commenting much recently. I hope you all had a good day! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.