Muse

By Muse

Pottery the Hemming-way

A chance social network status update found us visiting Evesham Country Park. My very old friend Jo is a creater of fine ceramics and knowing these were available for purchase today gave us the perfect reason to revisit Evesham.

Wandering around the Craft Fare, I'd expected Jo to be on the lookout for our friendly faces as I'd dropped her a note yesterday to give her the heads up. However, having missed my comment on Facebook, she spotted us with surprise as we found our way to her pottery delights. I took the opportunity to get a number of Christmas pressies sorted for friends and family and then we settled back for a good old catch up.

I've known Jo since our student days making pies at the local pie factory. "Spikey Jo" (as she was affectionately known due to her hairstyle back then - shaved underside and spiked on top) and I have been friends ever since. it's good to have the kind of mates who, though you don't see them for months, even years at a time, you know you can pick up like it was yesterday!

Today we laughed as we remembered her visiting my house on her bike. We'd have been about 18 or so, and she came sporting her short denim shorts, vest top and DM boots. "Such a pretty girl" my dad said - "such a shame!" He meant no malice (my dad's just too nice for that) - he'd obviously just appreciated her beauty more than her fashion choices !(mine too actually when it came to it)

i wish I'd reminded her about my favourite memory of her lovely pop too - hooning around the garden, jumping over the plantpots, doing his impression of an aeroplane, but that's one for another time!

Spikey Jo - you'll always be my friend! Lotsa Love Josie Jo Jo x

All Jo's Pottery is made with love and if you can't make it to Evesham tomorrow, you can find her work to buy at http://folksy.com/shops/JoHemmingCeramics

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.