0804 to Leeds

By ZMT

The train station is a great place to people-spot. They say that over 100,000 people go through the Leeds train station daily, which is a staggering figure when I think about it.

I've never taken a portrait there, though I've often thought about it. I suspect the light won't be that great (it's a large covered concourse with artificial yellow lighting), plus it's always busy when I'm there and backgrounds may be an issue.

I only mention the above as I saw Mark as I exited the station. It was his stance and pose which caught my eye and I told him so when I approached him for a picture.

Mark was not as open as previous strangers, providing short answers to my questions which is fair enough I guess. I think I've been lucky in selecting people who have had something to say or are happy to have a quick chat, even if it's about mundane things.

I liked how this shot came out mainly due to the contrast in light across Mark's face - the right side is in shadow whilst the left side is open to the light.

Mark works in an office.


Humans of Leeds

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.