Footprints in Photos

By AnnaSpanner

We are calling this Monday morning apathy

Mondays come round so quick. It's the start of a new week I feel like I've barely seen my husband this Thursday night.

Went to see Grandma. As I knocked on the main door I saw an old lady with a Zimmer frame and hunched back, very unsteady on her feet. She was sort of staring through the glass at me not sure if she could properly see me on the other side. It took me a few moments before I recognised this was my grandma.

She was quite emotional when she realised it was me and I felt instantly pleased that I'd come. A very proud lady, I know she is struggling with not being able to make a cup of tea for her guest, and feels a bit embarrassed to be surrounded by a lot of old people who are either sleeping or away with the fairies (her words), but I do think she is in the best place. She's so confused and forgetful, repeating herself a lot. She seemed totally exhausted from trying to work everything out.

I know she's been giving my dad quite a hard time as we do to people we love, but I think she was so pleased to see a familiar face in me that she was on her best behaviour for me today. And I did see lots of glimmers of the grandma I know in amongst this new grandma she has become.

I'd prepared myself for it to be really upsetting but I actually came away pleased that there's somewhere there for her around the clock. She doesn't need to be frightened, she doesn't need to make sure she remembers to eat or shower as there's a routine there for her. Hopefully see her again I'm a few days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.