Pen Pals

Very busy day - and I haven't quite settled down for the night. Still one Ballerina to pick up and milk for tomorrow morning (the other two wanted Hot Chocolate before bedtime).

When I was at school we used to send away a list of names and addresses to a company which provided Pen Pals. It was very exciting. All those letters. All those foreign stamps. I had a pen pal who lived in Nicosia. I still remember his address. Maybe one day I will turn up at his door and give him a fright!

I'm a compulsive hoarder of letters. The ones I sent to a best friend at school (who was sitting across from me in class and writing to me at the same time), letters from my sister when she first emigrated to Australia, - there's even a (very) few love letters from Mr S !

I loved the excitement of a letter arriving in the post. Of course we have emails....but we don't print them and they don't have that crisp anticipation of news. This generation probably don't know HOW to write a letter.

But we have BLIP ! My new penpals !

Here's No 3 - she was sending a message on FB to her friend who has moved to Doha with her family (and I miss her mum loads!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.