Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

No Sunshine today. Except at the movies...

A bit more packing and domestic chores this morning, then a wander down town to meet up with the Kiwi visitors in the afternoon. It had been bit dreich all morning, but was trying to brighten up, so I didn’t bring an umbrella, as it hampers any photography, but of course it started raining as soon as I was on the bus.

I popped into the National Gallery to escape from the rain soak up some culture. Not supposed to take photos, of course, but I pumped up my ISO (2000!), dangled my camera down with the flip screen out, and set about outwitting the attendants in each room. Pretty easy really, as I wasn’t using a flash. The attendant in this shot, while vigilant, was seated at the archway, and can’t see through statues! Though I think the girl in the background saw me...

I was rather taken with this painting on the far wall, which is the largest in the collection. I just love the title -

‘Alexander 111 of Scotland Rescued from the Fury of a Stag by the Intrepidity of Colin Fitzgerald’ Good old Colin!

Or the rather more prosaic version, ‘Death of the Stag’ By Benjamin West.

By the time I came out, the rain had stopped, and the cobbles were glistening, so I made slow progress along Princes St and the Gardens to the Filmhouse - so many raindrops on petals!

The Kiwi visitors and I went to the afternoon showing of ‘Sunshine on Leith’. Loved it. Everyone clapped at the end.

I must say, I’m a bit peeved - I think I must be the only Edinburgh resident not to be in any of the crowd scenes...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.