Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

A double dose of sunshine today!

Another load of stuff to the charity shops this morning, after JR had gone through my pile of discards and removed things that weren’t to be thrown out … I must say, I’ve made a bit of a booboo with the tools - they’re all packed, and of course, I’ll need them to remove nails and screws etc. Just as well each box is labelled clearly with the contents. Well, most of them are …

As JR had missed out on the film yesterday, I booked tickets for this afternoon (Times 2 for 1 - not wasting full price on seeing a film I’ve already seen!) to see Sunshine on Leith. Yes! I did go again!! I can name the few films I’ve ever liked enough to see more than once - Muriel’s Wedding, Brokeback Mountain, and of course, decades ago - A Hard Day’s Night and Help! Loved it second time round too. And I don’t actually like musicals.

It was such a brilliant evening when we came out, we walked along to the canal. We could hardly see where we were walking - the sun was so low and beaming like headlights right in front of us. But I did manage to spot these sunflowers taking in the last of the sun.

The canal was fantastic, but the sun was reflecting so much from the windows on the canal boats, that any photos weren’t good enough. Two Scottie dogs strolled along, seemingly without an owner. I really wanted to take a photo of them, but they were heading somewhere and wouldn’t be diverted.

We walked back along to the Blackbird pub and popped in. It’s a great wee pub with nice meals. Last time we there, it may have been a wee bit earlier, at my request, they kindly turned the muzak right down in the restaurant area. But tonight it was loud, and at times raucous. And in fact at times it was just sheer NOISE.

I looked around at everyone, not all young folk, and wondered if they liked eating a meal while shouting loud enough at the person opposite to be heard, and saying ‘Pardon?’ every time. I then realised that us oldies were meant to be at home in our slippers by 8pm. There is no place that caters for people who want to chat in a normal voice. WHY?

When we left, the young girl asked where we were going on to. I felt like saying, ‘We’re off somewhere that’s a bit noisier!’ but I didn’t. She was disappointed that we were going home, as the night was still young.

I must be getting old - my slippers are more appealing now...


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.