Musings of a Mortal

By KennyRiley

A view of the bridge

One of the great things about living in Queensferry and working over in Dunfermline, is that I get to cycle over the Forth Bridge - so as a general rule I cycle over for my day shifts and the when I am on nights I will take the car.

I do try and cycle the whole year round (sometimes more pleasant then others..) and one of the great things is seeing the sunsets and sunrises - and at this time of year I am just about hitting the bridge as the sun begins to rise in the east and the warm glow on the rail bridge and the colours in the sky, are just fab!

Yesterday, as I was heading of for my second day shift (I am a firefighter....so no mentions about pensions please!!), I noticed that for about 5 to 10 mins, the colours were vibrant...so instead of I lie in this morning I decided to get up and head onto the bridge and try and see what I could capture today.

What I didn't realise was much vibrations are generated by the passing traffic .. so it was Set Up - Wait for a good composition - Stop blethering to Graham Barclay (hope you enjoyed the cycle mate!) - Wait for a pause in the traffic!!mmmm - Capture the scene.....

...and this is one of the shots I managed to achieve.

I soon will be cycling in the dark and returning in the dark - the joy of winter...but isn't it great to know that winter will pass and the lighter mornings and the wonderful sunrises over the bridge will be back - I think there is a thought to explore there but we shall leave that for another day.

Have a great weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.