dwalletta

By dwalletta

Thwarted urban guerilla

My first outing as an urban explorer didn't quite go according to plan. It was all very well-mannered and law abiding. I'd arranged to meet up with an established group at the now derelict Bangour Village Hospital.

I hadn't realised the site was so popular. Turns out it's one of the most photographed places in Scotland - more popular than Edinburgh castle. And the guys I was with were all interested in photography, not breaking and entering.

Everywhere you looked there was a tripod. Grown adults hardly able to walk under the weight of their enormous lenses. Impromtu focus groups discussing shutter lengths and f-stop values and the like.

I was too embarassed to produce the balaclava I'd brought, or my grappling hook and climbing rope.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.