I really do

and frankly the mountains of paperwork are not the important thing (although in terms of keeping the job, they are).

Nope.

What's important?

When the lightbulb goes on over a student's head and they realise that they DO know the answer.

When a student perseveres beyond every expectation.

When what you do with them creates little moments of awe "woah, Miss, why did it do that?"

When you know that the way you work with them is the reason why they are achieving...that it isn't just about what you teach and the resources, but it's about personality, moments of lunacy, trust, honesty and being in it together.

My principles are the important thing and I have to keep them at the forefront of my mind right now. I am obligated, like my colleagues across the education systems of the world, to work within systems and educational processes that don't necessarily inspire or enthuse me on a personal level. Shock, horror, but the school statto does not necessarily believe that everything is about numbers. No, what statto actually believes is that children need a voice, that they need their teachers to help them to find their voices, to use them appropriately, to discover their talents, to nurture them, encourage, inspire confidence, develop resilience and understand that walls are meant to be climbed over rather than seen as a complete blockade.

That is my message, it's in my head. I just need to make sure that I say it, out loud and through my actions.

I am in pain. It's been developing again over the past few weeks. I can only assume it is scar tissue. Therefore it is likely that I am going to have to learn to live with it, because everything that can be taken out has been taken out. So now I have another new thing to think about! However, it's not crushingly debilitating - I think exercise is definitely the way to ease it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.