Dawn walk in the bird sanctuary

The sky was stunning as we set off shortly after dawn. Back in the bird sanctuary after a 5.30 alarm call, we didn't take the rickshaws this time. We walked for several hours along the wonderful path beside the lake in the wetlands area. We saw antelope, deer , buffalo and squirrels as well as marvellous birds. More kingfishers. I got some photos of them. Butterflies too, but the monarch is teasing me. They dip towards me to let me know they are there, but vanish before I can focus. Herons, more painted storks, lots and lots of local birds. Only three of us (all from Staffordshire) got up for this and there was absolutely nobody else around this time apart from us with our tour guide and the ornithologist. I cannot believe how lucky I am. Back for breakfast and to pack. We're off to Ranthambore by train this afternoon - our bus will slowly take the road and should arrive late this evening. Tigers we hope tomorrow, but we're warned about the weather conditions which will hit the Bangladesh and East area. I do hope there will not be too much destruction over there. We're fine here but unsure about how much rain could fall in this late monsoon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.