The beholder's eye

By uniqueandlovely

Love your moustache Mr Monkey!

I went with the school today on a trip to ZSL Regent's Park with 50 of our new year 7's.
I love going on this trip, even though it is hard work! We were a bit concerned as the weather was so foul yesterday, but we needn't have worried at all, as it turned out to be a lovely sunny day and not too hot!
The animals were brilliant, and my Lumix G10 really did me proud today, which was good as my SLR is so heavy to carry around for long periods, especially with a frozen shoulder!
I ended up with loads of possible blips, but in the end I have chosen one from one of my favourite exhibits 'Rainforest life'.
Rainforest life allows you to walk round the steamy tops of the trees in a rainforest exhibit, and interact with the animals that live there, including Sloths, and several species of small monkey.
Today's Blip is of a Emperor tamarin monkey Saguinus imperator, thought to have been named after the German Emperor Wilhelm ll because of it's long white moustache.
This primate lives in the Southwest Amazon Basin, in East Peru, north Bolivia and in the west Brizilian states of Acre and Amazonas. They live in small groups of eight to 10 individuals led by the oldest female.
They run freely round the rain forest exhibit, and today one peed on one of our girls!! oops! Despite this, I still think they have one of the most endearing little faces I have ever seen.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.