Muse

By Muse

Holy Netball

Today I took part in a ladies netball match - St Teresa's vs St Brigids.

Anyone who knows me will fully comprehend the absurdity of my participation. I'm the one who hates exercise, won't run for a bus and even leaves all PE lessons for my PPA cover (thanks Mandip!) However, once the challenge was laid down, I knew we needed to field a team and was prepared to lend a hand and two left feet!

Apparently, this game came about when Father Simon and Father Yan were in Lourdes - there was some trash talk and the outcome was an over forties ladies netball tournament. I've not played this game since I was at school but the rules came flooding back once I was on the pitch - one two three throw....bounce pass, chest pass... it's just a pity my body wasn't as active as my memory!

I did my bit as Wing Defence for part of the game - leaving Patricia to take my bib and finish in style. The final score was 9 4 to us (yeah champions!) although I can't take any credit for the goals or the win!

It was a laugh - but I might have to "forget my kit" when we play the return game at St Teresa's!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.