Jurrasic Coast

Despite a bit of a crawling drive along the A303, we made it to the River Cottage canteen in Axminster in time for some late lunch, and it was delicious! It looked just as I expected inside, and the food was so good. I wrote down the names of a few of the ingredients as I'd not heard of them before. I also had one of the best ginger beers I've tasted; made by a local Devon company.. I should have stocked up before leaving! We drove past the River Cottage HQ on the way to the coast, but unfortunately couldn't see anything of the house or gardens; it's all pretty locked down. We stopped in the coastal towns of Seaton and Sidmouth. The wind was raging, so both had such dramatic seas. In Sidmouth the cliffs were really red, and the sea reflected this; I guess it had been churned up in the wind, and the sea was an incredible rust colour. It also caught us out when we were trying to make it round a corner along the sea wall and completely drenched us both down one side! We had a final soggy drive to Exeter and were greeted by our friends and an amazing homemade curry. We had a lovely evening catching up over beers and board games.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.